Accessible Performances

Derby Theatre is offering the following Accessible performances in 2019.

One Man, Two Guvnors

BSL Interpreted: Thursday 12 September, 7:30pm & Saturday 14 September, 2:30pm

Audio Desribed: Wednesday 18 September, 2:30pm & Saturday 28 September, 2:30pm

Relaxed Performance: Thursday 19 September, 2:30pm

Dementia Friendly Performance: Wednesday 25 September, 2:30pm

Derby SignFest Festival 2019

All events are accessible for deaf and hearing participants

Derby SignFest: City Centre Ghost Tour

BSL Interpreted: Monday 9 September, 6:45pm & Wednesday 11 September, 6:45pm

Unfortunately due to the nature of the old buildings they are not accessible to those in wheelchairs or with limited mobility.

Derby SignFest: Kelly Moody Beauty Demo

BSL Interpreted: Monday 9 September, 10:00am

Derby SignFest: Royal Crown Derby Tour

BSL Interpreted: Monday 9 September, 11:00am

Derby SignFest: Friargate Ghost Tour

BSL Interpreted: Tuesday 10 September, 6:45pm & Thursday 12 September 6:45pm

Unfortunately due to the nature of the old buildings they are not accessible to those in wheelchairs or with limited mobility.

Derby SignFest: Body Confidence Workshop

BSL Interpreted: Wednesday 11 September, 10:00am

Derby SignFest: Pride Park Stadium Tour

BSL Interpreted: Wednesday 11 September, 11:00am & 2:00pm 

Derby SignFest: Variety Showcase

BSL Interpreted: Wednesday 11 September, 6:30pm

Gavin Lilley

Performed in BSL with spoken English translation: Friday 13 September, 8:00pm & Saturday 14 September, 5:30pm 

Derby SignFest: Dearby Deaf Club Quiz

Quiz is Visual and BSL Interpreted: Saturday 14 September, 8:00pm

You've Got Dragons

Captioned by Difference Engine and BSL Interpreted: Sunday 15 September, 12:00pm & 3:30pm

Audio Described: Sunday 15 September, 12:00pm & 3:30pm

Five Years

BSL Interpreted: Saturday 5 October, 7:00pm

Relaxed Performance: Saturday 5 October, 7:00pm 

The Lady Vanishes

BSL Interpreted: Thursday 10 October, 7:30pm

Audio Described: Saturday 12 October, 2:30pm

Blood Brothers

BSL Interpreted: Thursday 17 October, 7:30pm

Audio Described: Saturday 19 Octtober, 2:30pm

Two Trains Running

Captioned by Stage Text: Thursday 24 October, 7:30pm 

Audio Described performance with Touch Tours before the show: Saturday 26 October, 2:30pm

Louder Is Not Always Clearer

Creative captioning, English and some BSL: Friday 25 October, 8:00pm

Queens of Sheba

BSL Interpreted: Saturday 26 October, 8:00pm

Stick Man 

BSL Interpreted: Friday 1 November, 2:00pm

Jadek

Integrated Audio Description: Saturday 2 November, 5:00pm

The Wedding Singer

BSL Interpreted: Wednesday 6 November & Saturday 9 November, 7:30pm

4.48 Psychosis

Captioned by Difference Engine and BSL Interpreted: Friday 8 November 7:30pm, Saturday 9 November, 2:00pm & 8:00pm, Sunday 10 November, 2:00pm

I Wanna Be Yours

Integrated BSL: Friday 15 November, 8:00pm

Fitting

Captioned by Difference Engine: Saturday 16 November, 7:00pm

A Christmas Carol

BSL Interpreted: Tuesday 10 December, 10:15am, Friday 13 December, 7:15pm & Saturday 21 December, 2:30pm

Audio Described performances, with Touch Tours before the show: Wednesday 18 December, 2:30pm & Saturday 28 December, 2:30pm

Relaxed Performances: Thursday 19 December, 10:15pm & Thursday 2 January, 2:30pm

Dementia Friendly Performance: Friday 3 January, 2:30pm

Little Red Riding Hood

BSL Interpreted: Wednesday 11 December, Saturday 14 December, 1:30pm

Relaxed Performances: Wednesday 18 December, 1:30pm (schools), Thursday 2 January, 1:30pm

Frankenstein

BSL Interpreted: Thursday 23 January, 7.30pm

Audio Described: Saturday 25 January, 2.30pm

Crongton Knights

BSL Interpreted: Thursday 19 March, 6:00pm

Macbeth

Audio Described performances, with Touch Tours before the show: Wednesday 11 March & Saturday 14 March, 2:30pm

BSL Interpreted: Thursday 12 March, 7:30pm

 

Please be aware that we hold Touch Tours one hour before the start of each Audio Described performance. Find out more below. 

Audio Described Performances

Audio description is a form of audio-visual translation that use the natural pauses in dialogue and critivcal sound elements to provide a live verbal commentary through a personal headset. All of Derby Theatre's in-house productions are audio described, as well as some touring productions. 

Touch Tours

Touch Tours enable you to explore and familaries yourself with the stage, props and costumes prior to attending a performance. Touch Tours are free and take place 1 hour before an Audio Described performance starts. Please advise Box Office if you would like a Touch Tour when booking an Audio Described performance.

BSL Interpreted Performances

We provide British Sign Language (BSL) interpreted performances for all of our in-house productions, as well as some touring productions. Our performances are usually interpreted by TheatreSign. Please let Box Office know if you have a preferred seat or would like advice on the most suitable seats for a BSL Interpreted show.

Captioned Performances

Captioning converts spoken word into text and is presented on a screen at the side of the stage. Captioned performances are currently available for some touring productions in the Main House and the Studio.

Captioning using the Difference Engine

Some performances are captioned using The Difference Engine - a tool that can be downloaded onto your smart phone or tablet prior to the show.

Please try to arrive 30 minutes before the show so that we have time to give clear instructions to each individual audience member who requires this service. The captioning is streamed directly to your phone so we recommend that your mobile device is fully charged prior to the performances. This is not a replacement for BSL and we appreciate it will not be suitable for all who are Deaf and hard of hearing. 

Relaxed Performances

Everyone is welcome at Derby Theatre, and we want all audience members to feel as comfortable as possible during their visit. As part of this, we offer Relaxed Performances that are ideal for audience members who are on the autistic spectrum or have sensory sensitivities, or those who would benefit from a more relaxed environment. 

Each Relaxed Performance will be adapted for the specific needs of the audience – house lights may remain on at a low level throughout, other lighting effects may be toned down and the volume of sound effects reduced. Audience members are also free to leave the auditorium during the performance and use our chill out space.

Support materials for you to familiarise yourself with the theatre and show prior to your visit, such as a visual story and a synopsis of the production, are made available online before each Relaxed Performance, and will be attached to a pre-show email. All of these adaptations are intended to make the theatrical experience comfortable for all. 

Dementia Friendly Performances

We offer Dementia-Friendy performances so that people living with Dementia, and their families and carers, can enjoy a visit to the theatre in a supportive and relaxed environment.

There will be a more relaxed attitude to leaving and re-entering the theatre and making noise, the house lights will be kept on a low level. There will also be a quiet space available for use at any time before, during and after the show. Our friendly staff will be happy to offer assistance too, including staff who are Dementia Friends.

We run regular Dementia-Friendly Information sessions in the theatre for those with Dementia, their carers, friends and family and anyone who would like to become more Dementia-Friendly. For Derby Theatre productions, we aim to provide a Dementia-Friendly social before our Dementia-Friendly performances. Please see our website or ask staff members for information on upcoming Dementia-Friendly events.

 

If you do have any questions regarding access, parking or familiarisation tickets please do email us at theatretickets@derby.ac.uk.